Local Self Government Dept, Govt. of Kerala
Kerala Govt Logo
Government of Kerala
Local Self Government Department

Local Self Government Department

Kerala State has 941 Grama Panchayats, 152 Block Panchayats, 14 District Panchayats, 87 Municipalities and 6 Corporations. Consequent to the 73rd and 74th amendments to the Constitution, the three-tier system came into existence in India . In Kerala, Local Self-Government Institutions have been meaningfully empowered through massive transfer of resources as well as administrative powers. Local self-government Institutions have emerged as effective agencies for the implementation of developmental programmes. Developmental programmes are identified and implemented through Grama Sabhas. With the decentralisation of power, Local administration department has gained an important role in the formulation and implementation of developmental works at the grass-root level. Today Panchayat Directorate, Directorate of Urban Affairs, Commissionerate of Rural Development and Town and Country Planning Department are the major allied departments of Local Administration. Related to local administration activities, there are different allied institutions and training centers under LSGD. As per the Government Order (MS) 97/2011/LSGD, Panchayat Department, Urban Affairs Department, and Commissionerate of Rural Development are under the control of three ministers.

Dr. M. K. Muneer is the Minister for Panchayat. Shri. K. C. Joseph, the Minister for Rural Development and Shri. Manjalam kuzhy Ali, the Minister for Urban Affairs are the other two ministers .These three ministers form a subcommittee, for rectifying the disputes arising between the departments, which acts under the presence of Chief Minister.




Dr. M K Muneer

Minister for Panchayats

Shri. K C Joseph

Minister for Rural Development

Shri. Manjalam Kuzhi Ali

Minister for Urban Affairs

Local Self Government Department - Structure

LSGD Structure

Telephone Numbers

Untitled Document
Website belongs to Local Self Government Department, Kerala, India
Developed and maintained by Information Kerala Mission, Network Services by State e-Governance Data Centre